Awards & Accomplishments

Recent Graduate Student Awards
  • Lauren Dickey was awarded the Dean’s Competitive Fellowship for Fall 2019.
  • Colin Smith and Daniel Cole won the Departmental Allocated Grant for 2018-19.
  • Suraj Chaudhary and James Lincoln won the Departmental Allocated Grant for 2017-18.
  • Peter Antich won the Departmental Allocated Grant for spring 2017.
  • Peter Moore won the UK Presidential Fellowship for 2015-2016.
  • Suraj Chaudhary spent won a DAAD grant to study German. 
  • Margot Wielgus was awarded a fellowship from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinshaft (DFG) to work as a visiting doctoral student at Freiburg University, 2014-15.
  • Rob Guerin was awarded a grant from the Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD) for study in Germany, 2013-14.
  • Michael Wiitala was awarded the 2013-14 UK Dissertation Year Fellowship.
  • Joan Braune was awarded the 2010-11 UK Presidential Fellowship.
  • Margot Wielgus was awarded the 2009-10 UK-Heidelberg Exchange Scholarship.
  • Brandon Absher was awarded the 2008-09 UK Presidential Fellowship
  • Congratulations to our graduate students on receiving these awards!
Graduate Student Accomplishments
  • Central APA, 2019
    • Current Graduate Students: James Lincoln, Lila Wakeman, and Colin Smith presented at the Central APA.
    • James Lincoln is interviewed by the APA Blog.
    • PhD Alumni: Peter Antich (Marquette), Joseph Trullinger (George Washington University), and Michael Wiitala (Cleveland State) (former PhD students) presented at the Central APA, 2019. Brett Fulkerson-Smith (Harper College) organized the panel "Best Practices in Teaching Philosophy: Argument Mapping".

  • Clay Graham, Carrie Reed, and Lila Wakeman presented papers together at the 7th Annual Dimensions of Political Ecology (DOPE) Conference. Their session was titled “Appraisals of Aldo Leopold’s Environmental Philosophy.” Graham presented “Leopold’s Ecological Conscience & Inter-Being in Zen Buddhism: Toward the Necessity of Community in Environmental Philosophy”. Reed presented “Leopold’s Land Ethic Weakly Defended.” Wakeman presented “Common Features of Leopold’s Land Ethic and Shrader-Frechette’s Hierarchical Holism”. 
  • Colin Smith presented “Turning Toward Forms: Method in Plato’s Theaetetus, Sophist, and Statesman Trilogy” at the University of Chicago Graduate Student Conference in Ancient Philosophy. He presented “The Groundwork of Dialectics in Statesman 277a- 287b” at the North American Workshop in Platonic Philosophy at Hamline University in St. Paul, MN. 
  • Jarrad Felgenhauer presented “Race, Revolution, and Violence: A Hegelian Triad” at the Northwest Philosophy Conference. He also presented “Che Guevara, Frantz Fanon, and the New Humanism” at the Radical Philosophy Association. 
  • Suraj Chaudhary presented his paper, “Modern Technology and the Distortion of Being,” at the 7th International Colloquium on the Philosophy of Technics that took place in Argentina in October, 2016. 
  • Kayla Bohannon presented a paper entitled “Why Limiting Abortion to Instances of Rape is Problematic” in July at the North American Society for Social Philosophy’s annual conference. 
  • Rob Guerin won the 2014 UK Philosophy Graduate Student Essay Competition for his paper, "Janus-Faced: Imagination, Syllogism, and Kant’s Transcendental Idealism."
  • Joan Braune's dissertation has been published as Erich Fromm's Revolutionary Hope: Prophetic Messianism as a Critical Theory of the Future (Sense Publishers, 2014).
  • Clint Jones's dissertation has been published as A Genealogy of Social Violence: Founding Murder, Mimetic Violence, and the Future of the Family (Ashgate, 2013).
  • Joshua Horn won the 2012 Philosophy Graduate Student Essay Competition for his paper, "The Ontological Interpretation of Compossibility."
  • UK Arts & Sciences Outstanding Teaching Assistant awards were received by Tyler Klaskow (2012) and Joshua Horn (2013). 
  • Jesse Delaney won the 2011 Philosophy Graduate Student Essay Competition for his paper, "Possibility and Critique: A Study of Immanuel Kant's Methodological Development."
Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected