2019-20

Friday afternoons  at 4 pm (Unless otherwise noted) 
 

Fall Semester

 
Date Friday, September 20, 2019
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location Main 005
Speaker Thi Nguyen (Utah Valley U.)
Title "Trust as an Unquestioning Attitude"
  • Note: will also speak to Philosophy Club (tentatively 12 pm)
 
Date Friday, October 11, 2019
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. 
Location Main 005
Speaker William Scheuermann (IU Bloomington)
Title “Critical Theory and the Present Crisis”
 
Date Friday, October 18, 2019
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location Main 005
Speaker Zach Davis (St. John's University, NYC)
Title TBD (Max Scheler's Environmental Philosophy)
 
Date Friday, November 8, 2019
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location Main 005 
Speaker Carolyn Hay (UMass Lowell)
Title TBD (ethics/social & political phil.)
 
"Affect & Populism"
Social Theory Conference
November 8-9, 2019 – philosophers on Sat.
Location: TBD
Organizer: Stefan Bird-Pollan
 
Date Friday, November 15, 2019
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location Main 005
Speaker Robert Scharff (UNH, emeritus)
Title TBD (Heidegger, phil. of technology)
 

Spring semester

 
Date Friday, January 24, 2020
Time 12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Location POT 1445
Speaker Melissa Jacquart (U Cincinnati)
Title TEACHING WORKSHOP
 
Date Friday, February 7, 2020
Time 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Location TBD
Speaker Angela Potochnik (U Cincinnati)
Title TBD (phil. of science)
 
PGSA Conference
Keynote: Mark Deuze (tentative)
Saturday, March 7 (tentative)
Organizer: John Roso
Topic: Ethics of the Internet & Digital Age
 
Date Friday, March 27, 2020
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location TBD
Speaker Rob Koons (U Texas, Austin)
Title TBD (contemporary Aristotelian metaphysics)
 
Date Friday, April 10, 2020
Time 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location TBD
Speaker Mariam Thalos (U Tennessee, Knoxville)
Title TBD (phil. of science, decision theory)
 
 

 

X
Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected

Loading